Telangana Geography for Tspsc group 1, group 2, group 3, group 4 exams

 Telangana Geography for Tspsc group 1, group 2, group 3, and group 4 exams 

After prolonged struggles and various movements, Telangana state was carved out of Andhra Pradesh as the 29th state of India on June 2, 2014. area wise it is the 12th largest state. telangana state area is 1, 12, 2017 Sq.K.M.

Telangana state is situated in the Indian peninsula on 15,55" on northern latitude and 80, 45" on eastern longitude. telangana got its own political and geographical existence since historic period.

From ancient historic period to Asaf Jahi rule people of different races and different countries lived together in Telangana. after many consequences in today's, composite culture has formed in Telangana. 

Telangana is situated in southern India on the godwana rocks of Deccan plateau. the borders of Telangana on the eastern and southern borders of Andhra Pradesh, north and north-west Maharashtra, on western side of Karnataka, on northern east of Chattisgarh. telangana is a landlocked state. neither it had any coastal line nor an international border. the capital of Telangana in Hyderabad.

Telangana is comprised of 10 districts, the largest one is Mahbubnagar and the smallest is Hyderabad. 

The official language of Telangana is Telugu second language is Urdu.

Climate in Telangana

Telangana got temperate tropical climate .summer start in the month of March. during may, the temperature rises between 42C to 48C. rainy season starts in the month of June with the onset of northern monsoon. rainy season continues until September the rainfall in Telangana is 755 millimeters on an average 35 centimeters. during the winter season, i,e from November to February, the temperature hovers between 22C to 23C.  


Population of Telangana

Telangana population is 3.52crs. the capital city of Telangana, Hyderabad, ranks top in the best livable cities in India. most of the people speak Telugu and Urdu language.

Telangana geographical conditions 

Telangana is part of Deccan plateau. it is approximately 480-600 meters higher than sea level. the area is formed on the nee stones of the Arkenian era. the land is covered with abnormal plains stones, rocky hills, and vast valleys.


Nallamalla hills which are part of eastern ghats are spread in Mahboob Nagar district.

 Hills which are part of western ghats are spread in the southeast in Adilabad district. they are called Nirmala hills.

 In Warangal and Khammam district these hills are called kandikal hills. rakhi hills are spread in Karim Nagar district.

 Balaghat hills are spread in Hyderabad and Mahboob Nagar districts.

 In the southern and eastern direction, rachakonda hills are spread in devarakonda region of Nalgonda district.

 Anantagiri hills are spread in Ranga Reddy and Mahboob Nagar district.


Black soil, sandy soil is spread from Adilabad to Khammam district.

Red Soil

Red soil is spread in most parts of Telangana. they can be seen in Hyderabad, Medak, Mahboob Nagar, Karim Nagar, Nizamabad, Nalgonda, and Adilabad districts.


Coal mines : Adilabad, Karim Nagar, Warangal and Khammam.

Iron ore: Adilabad, Warangal

Calcium Stone : Mahboob Nagar, Khammam

Lime Stone : Nalgonda, Rangareddy, Adilabad and Mahaboobnagar.

Manganese : Adilabad

Slate : Ranga reddy, Nalgonda, Warangal and Adilabad

Copper : Khammam.



Telangana Geography Pdf Material Download Telugu

 The Godavari which originates in Nashik trayambak of western ghats enters into Telangana at Basara of Adilabad district.

 The Godavari flows in Adilabad, Karim Nagar, Warangal, Khammam district and enters into Andhra Pradesh

 Around 79.1% of Telangana area is under Godavari basin.

 Manjeera, Pranahita, Shabari, Indravathi, Wenganga, Wardha are the tributes of the Godavari river.

Krishna River

Krishna river which originates in Mahabaleshwar of western ghats flows in Maharashtra, karnataka and enters into telangana of mahboob nagar district.

 Krishna flows in Mahboob Nagar and Nalgonda districts and enters into Andhra Pradesh.

 krishna river got around 68.50% of the basin in Telangana

 Bheema, Tungabhadra, Musi, ghata prabha, Malaprabha, Dindi, Paleru, Munneru are the tributaries of krishna river.

District Areas

Telangana is comprised of 10 districts with 457 Mandals

 Area wise largest districts     :   Mahboob Nagar, Adilabad

Area wise smallest district    :   Hyderabad

District with highest No         :   Mahboob  Nagar (64) of Mandals Nalgonda (59)  

District with Smallest No       :   Hyderabad (16) of Mandals Nizamabad (36)

 Total Number of assembly constituencies in Telangana: 119

Total Number of Lok Sabha Constituencies in Telangana: 17

Total Number of Rajya Sabha Constituencies in Telangana: 7


District wise assembly constituencies





Karim Nagar 




Ranga Reddy




Mahboob nagar









Parliament Constituencies in Telangana

 1. Adilabad

2. peddapalli

3. Karim Nagar

4. Nizamabad

5. Zaheerabad

6. Medak

7. Malkajgiri

8. Secundrabad

9. Hyderabad

10. Chevella

11. Mahboob Nagar

12. Nagar Kurnool

13. Bhuvanagiri

14. Nalgonda


16. Khammam

 Telangana Geography English Material Free Pdf Download

Mandals of Khammam district merged with Andhra Pradesh

1. Bhadrachalam Mandal except for Kunbhadrachalam town.

2. Kunavaram 3. Chinturu 4. Vararamanchandrapuram 5. Velerupadu 6. Kukkunuru 7. Burgampadu.


Post a Comment